Scavello Announces $275,000 in New School Safety and Security Grants

Harrisburg – Eleven area school districts were awarded state grants today to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Mario Scavello (R-40).

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to schools for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000. Local grant recipients include: 

Monroe County

  • Northern Lehigh School District
  • East Stroudsburg Area School District
  • Pleasant Valley School District
  • Pocono Mountain School District
  • Stroudsburg Area School District 

Northampton County

  • Bangor Area School District
  • Bethlehem Area School District
  • Easton Area School District
  • Nazareth Area School District
  • Northampton Area School District
  • Pen Argyl Area School District

“I worked with my legislative colleagues to create this grant program because students and teachers need a safe learning environment for education to take place,” said Scavello. “These funds will help local schools address their most pressing needs for ensuring safety and security.”

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety.

More information on the General Assembly’s efforts to improve school safety measures is available online at

You can follow Senator Scavello on Twitter and Facebook.

CONTACT: Christine Zubeck (717) 787-6123